August 17, 2017, 06:28:05 am
News:
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: New Hard Hard Drive  (Read 3550 times)
fpe
Newbie
*
Posts: 33


View Profile
« on: December 15, 2010, 11:18:12 am »

Hello --

Some time ago I was have issues with sync manager that came with my Neuros.  I call and spoke to support and
got help on how to "boot" the Neuros (DAC) into system mode ( I don't know if that is what its called ) and was given the
"secret hand shake" on how to have the unit to a format of the hard drive.

Is it possible to have some in the office post a video on this forum on how to do that?  I would like to replace the HD in
my unit with a larger on and don't recall how that is done

thanks

Frank
Logged
ChadV
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1611


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2010, 05:13:02 pm »

Not a video, but it's not really that secret of a handshake.  (It's documented elsewhere on the forums.)

Hold 1 + 5 (presets) while turning on the unit.  This will bring you to the diagnostic menu.

You can format both the internal flash and the hard drive from there.
Logged
fpe
Newbie
*
Posts: 33


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2011, 04:05:26 pm »

Hello --

Thanks for the info -- I would like to "max out" my player with the largest HD that is can handle -- what would that be and from what hardware vender?

Frank


Not a video, but it's not really that secret of a handshake.  (It's documented elsewhere on the forums.)

Hold 1 + 5 (presets) while turning on the unit.  This will bring you to the diagnostic menu.

You can format both the internal flash and the hard drive from there.
Logged
ChadV
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1611


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2011, 04:13:22 pm »

It'll take 2.5" IDE (not SATA) drives of any size, but I think it has a format limit of 120GB if I remember correctly.
Logged
fpe
Newbie
*
Posts: 33


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2011, 04:25:32 pm »

It'll take 2.5" IDE (not SATA) drives of any size, but I think it has a format limit of 120GB if I remember correctly.

Thanks --

That sort of makes sense  since the max disk size of the old 32 bit BIOS was about 137g -- Do I need to be  concerned if the drive spins at 5400 or 7200 rpm? is the a "power"  with the
type of drive or the manufacturer?
Logged
ChadV
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1611


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2011, 09:57:56 am »

It really depends...  Power drain = shorter battery life...  I think we saw better performance at playback with 4500 or 5400rpm drives (faster from stopped to data) but obviously you'll be able to load the unit faster with a 7200 rpm drive.
Logged
meanmistermustard
Newbie
*
Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2011, 06:43:16 pm »

Is it possible to create two partitions, on let's say a 250G HD and use both partitions with the N2?
Most IDE drives (2.5") are much too large and 120 GB look to be pretty rare size.
Even the 5400 drives are getting hard to find in a smaller size.
Logged
ChadV
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1611


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2011, 09:09:25 pm »

Not that I've ever heard of.  I believe it's a controller issue, not a software issue.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: