September 24, 2017, 09:42:28 pm
News:
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: User Interface Suggestions  (Read 3598 times)
hughmanoid

View Profile
« on: January 04, 2011, 12:52:31 am »

I upgraded to Arizona at the end of Decmber 2010 and would like to see USB KEYBOARD, PAUSE/RESUME added.

1:   Keyboard input settings are soft keyboard or cellphone but it would be nice to just type in on a USB keyboard rather than using yhe remote.  Haven't researched 'cellphone' setting.
   A:  Dedicating the USB port to keyboard sounds simple enuf since I can live with SD or Network Shares having given up the CF slot to Arizona.
   B:  Haven't tried this but I recall a reviewer that may have put a USB HUB and two usb drives on the OSD.  I'm no programmer, but I can guess that supporting a hub and MULTPLE devices increases complexity logarithmically.

2: Sure would like to be able to PAUSE and resume recording. 
   A: There seems to be a few seconds lag before recording begins.  Perhaps when the confirmation screen is presented, a background recording to a circular buffer could setup all the necessary steps so that when you confirm, you actually resume an initially paused recording.   I used to pause my old VCR in play mode,  press RECORD and then unpause at the point I wanted to start recording from the source. 
  B:  Am considering using a video titler and it would be nice to record a title screen, PAUSE, switch to video feed and resume recording.  I am trying to avoid recording on the OSD and the have to clean it up on the PC and wait overnight to render
heyrick
Global Moderator

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2011, 06:54:21 pm »

I upgraded to Arizona at the end of Decmber 2010 and would like to see USB KEYBOARD, PAUSE/RESUME added.

I think there is some sort of "issue" regarding the use of USB keyboards? I'll let greyback or ChadV step in if they have specifics.