October 22, 2017, 03:18:14 am
News:
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: No network devices found  (Read 3943 times)
Chonnawonga
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« on: February 11, 2011, 01:08:52 pm »

I have a Link that's been upgraded from hardware version 1.2 to 1.3. I just did a fresh install of the newest software image (1.5.03i3_2010-10-04-20) to a flash drive. It boots up fine, but Network Manager reports "No network devices  available". So, neither the wifi nor the on-board ethernet works. What can I do to get these devices detected?

Thanks!
Logged
ChadV
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1611


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 01:50:15 pm »

Can you open a command prompt and give us the output to the following:

ifconfig
lsmod
lspci

It could be that you've got an older wireless card than what we're using for all-new v1.3 units, but that doesn't explain why the ethernet port isn't working....
Logged
Chonnawonga
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2011, 04:31:16 pm »

Code:
neurosuser@NeurosLINK:~$ ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:240 (240.0 B)  TX bytes:240 (240.0 B)

Code:
neurosuser@NeurosLINK:~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_hda_codec_realtek   279040  1
snd_hda_codec_intelhdmi    13090  1
fbcon                  39270  71
tileblit                2487  1 fbcon
font                    8053  1 fbcon
bitblit                 5811  1 fbcon
softcursor              1565  1 bitblit
vga16fb                12757  0
vgastate                9857  1 vga16fb
binfmt_misc             7960  1
lirc_mceusb            14054  0
lirc_dev               11302  1 lirc_mceusb
snd_hda_intel          25677  0
snd_hda_codec          85759  3 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_intelhdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               6924  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            41394  0
snd_mixer_oss          16299  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                87882  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
i915                  321686  3
snd_seq_dummy           1782  0
snd_seq_oss            31219  0
snd_seq_midi            5829  0
snd_rawmidi            23420  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event      7267  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                57481  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer              23649  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device          6888  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
snd                    71106  13 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_intelhdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
drm_kms_helper         30742  1 i915
drm                   199268  4 i915,drm_kms_helper
i2c_algo_bit            6024  1 i915
video                  20623  1 i915
output                  2503  1 video
psmouse                64576  0
serio_raw               4918  0
soundcore               8052  1 snd
lp                      9336  0
snd_page_alloc          8500  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
joydev                 11072  0
intel_agp              29095  2 i915
parport                37160  1 lp
usbhid                 41084  0
hid                    83440  1 usbhid
usb_storage            49833  1
floppy                 63156  0

Code:
neurosuser@NeurosLINK:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation N10/ICH7 Family SATA IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 01)
Logged
Chonnawonga
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2011, 07:58:25 pm »

Update: I tried rebooting with an old install of the software, and now the network devices aren't working with that, either.

Now I'm just confused.  Undecided
Logged
ChadV
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1611


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2011, 10:36:36 pm »

can you get me the contents of /etc/networking/interfaces ?

This looks like the interfaces just need re-configured.
Logged
Chonnawonga
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2011, 11:25:30 pm »

/etc/network/interfaces
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
Logged
ChadV
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1611


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2011, 11:38:12 pm »

Yeah....  That's not right.  (I actually just had my Debian box drop the interfaces too.)

I can pull the version out of my nVidia or ATi model, but I'd rather get a copy of the Intel version in case there's differences.  I'll get back to you shortly, unless someone else has a copy first.

EDIT: I also don't see the wireless card on the PCI list.  Can you make sure it's seated properly?
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 11:41:22 pm by ChadV » Logged
Chonnawonga
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2011, 11:39:27 pm »

OK! Thank you!
 Smiley
Logged
Chonnawonga
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2011, 12:38:29 pm »

Well, that really takes the cake. There's obviously something more serious going on: I tried powering the system down for a while and then starting it back up, and now I'm getting no video feed at all. I've tried the D-SUB, DVI, and HDMI ports, to no avail.

EDIT: OK, another power down and plug-pull and the video and ethernet are both working. The wifi card still isn't showing up on lspci, so I'll get to checking its seating next.

Oy.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 01:01:20 pm by Chonnawonga » Logged
ChadV
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1611


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2011, 11:51:26 pm »

I actually just had my cable modem replaced because the network cable wasn't seated right...  It happens.  >.>

Let us know with the wireless card.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: